Tuesday, 12 June 2012

Eat It

Today I had the Sister Missionaries over for dinner for the first time. We have the missionaries over for dinner sometimes at home but I'd never hosted them all by myself before! I made my go-to dish; Singapore Rice Noodles. It's my favourite chinese takeaway dish and I think I've finally perfected the taste! Secret ingredient is Oyster Sauce - it's full of MSG (Monosodium Glutamate C5H8NNaO4 [IUPAC name: Sodium 2-Aminopentanedioate]) and small prawns are essential too. They seemed to enjoy it! I've been making it ever since I've been a student who can't afford to get chinese takeaway. Delish. I gave them rocket lollies for dessert as I'm trying to use up all my food before moving out at the weekend...do rocket lollies count as "food"? I also gave Sister Turnbow a Boost chocolate bar, citing it as "continuing her education in English chocolate". The first time I met her I had Double Deckers for them (the sisters) however her companion "didn't eat chocolate" so she got the whole pack of 4!. And now she has a different companion who also doesn't eat chocolate! Sister Shorters doesn't eat it for a better reason than "health" though. She made a bargain with her Dad that she wouldn't eat chocolate for a year in order for him to give up smoking if she succeeded. The sisters are great. It's so obvious that they get on really well. They're not silly either, we had a good chat about loads of things and it was a pleasure having them over. The Elders in the ward are very good too. Shouldn't compare them or "rate" them but they are some of the best we've had for a while :)



I've been packing today. The walls look bare and the floor is covered with boxes and books and bags. I won't miss the house. It's pretty grotty but it is nice and big. This room I've been habiting for the last 10 months is the biggest room I've ever had. I started life in a box room, moving on to a medium sized room in Watford, moved out for the first time and had a small room with en suite in halls, then downsized back at home in Watford leaving my old room for my brother to completely fill with his clutter and then this year I am in this massive high-ceilinged Victorian master bedroom! I have never had to share a room. I guess this will change after I've met your father, kids. Once, I expressed my love for double beds on facebook and someone responded saying "wait till you have to share a bed!" I'll cross that bridge when I have to :S !

Moving swiftly on, I had a great weekend! It was full of tennis and football (watching, not playing) and great people. Tina and I got to go round the Sagals' home on Friday and Sunday and we had a blast with them. Sadly Djokovic did not complete the non-calendar year grand slam but he's still one of my favourites. Hopefully I'll get to see him play at WIMBLEDON 2012! We're going to camp again. Excited.

Thursday, 7 June 2012

The Saga Begins...

I had a brainwave. I've not been keeping my journal very well (at all actually, I was pretty good at it until my first relationship ended and then I never wanted to record anything after that, lame I know!) :( So I thought I'd try the blog format in order to record my life and show it to the kids one day.

I finished my 2nd year Chemistry exams 2 weeks and 2 days ago, so I've been chillin' and doing a lot of nothing. I've recently been re-watching the TV show, "How I Met Your Mother". Being a girl, my brainwave was to turn this show's premise around and record the story of my pre-marital life so it'll be easier to tell my future posterity. Basically I want to do the hard work in the present, so I can be lazy later!

Where to start? I was born on 20th June 1992. I am currently 19 years, 11 months and 18 days old. Down to the minute as I wrote that last sentence at 22:57, the exact time the midwife declared that I had left my mother's uterus. Eww.

I lived a pretty good life from then on. Born to a father and mother who are converts of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, I was brought up with good values, two older brothers (now 27 and 23), a good sense of humour and GREAT taste in music...obviously! When I turned 18 I thought life had only just begun, and it kind of only had. Having a birthday in June at the end of the academic year, it felt like everything changed at once. The summer of 2010 I left school, finished seminary, became a YSA (Young Single Adult), went on a music tour to Venice, Italy, got a great tan, left home for university and got a bank account. It hit me pretty hard and I loved it. In fact I love it. I enjoy my life and the things I'm involved with. And that's the beauty of it, I do everything I do because it interests me. There's no more being made to mix with certain people because they're in my school class and I have no choice but to fraternise with them. I have choices. My agency is very important to me, it's something God handed over to me a long time ago.

Right now I'm sitting in bed in Edgbaston, Birmingham where I have been living for the best part of the last two years. I'll be packing up my things over the next week or so ready to go back to Watford, NW London which is home. We've lived there since April 2009 when we moved out of my childhood home in Harrow. I wasn't sad to leave the old house, the new one is AWESOME! The location is much nicer, greener and has more of a community feeling. Oh, and did I mention there aren't any drug dealers across the road unlike the Harrow house? It's the little things ;)

So what do I want my future kids to know? I don't know! But I want there to be an account of my life just in case they're the littlest bit interested. And it should be fun posting about the good, the bad and the ugly.

Oh and baby-daddy, wherever you are. You'll appear on here someday, so be cool yeah?



LDS Listings
HyperSmash hit counter